Favourites

Traditional modernised village house in pretty Laroque-des-Albères, close to the Mediterranean and the foothills of the Pyrenees. Reviews

Return to Listing

Reviews

Note: Login to add comments and leave review helpfulness feedback.

Average Customer Review
5 of 5 from 11 reviews.

Add Review


 May 2019

We had a lovely stay in this delightful property in Laroque. The house was very comfortable and clean and also well equipped.
The village itself has many amenities and we particularly enjoyed going to the boulangerie every morning and eating out in the local restaurants in the evening.
The area has many attractions and Laroque is an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding area, both the mountains and the coast.
All together a wonderful house to spend a week or more relaxing and taking it easy.


 11th - 20th September 2019

Just the most wonderful place to stay. The house has been so tastefully modernised and has everything that you could possibly need. Comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, relaxing sitting room and a lovely courtyard. It is in the ideal location for exploring and within easy reach of the coast or Spanish border, or for walking. Laroque-des-Alberes is a friendly village with plenty of amenities, bars and restaurants. A real treat - we wouldn't hesitate in going back.


 George M. - Dec 2018

We stayed for all of January and had a wonderful time. As we approached Laroque from the Dordogne the temperature rose steadily from 0C to 20C which boded well for our holiday. The house itself was warm and charming with every facility we could have wanted including comfortable beds, a very well equipped kitchen and well appointed bathroom. The town of Laroque is friendly and superbly located to the mountains and the sea and many fascinating coastal and inland towns, all with a story to tell. The mountain trails start pretty much at the front door for those like us who like a walk. In addition, Penny is the perfect host. We highly recommend this house and hope to return ourselves for another stay.
George M.


 Etienne P. - Aug 2018

Cette charmante maison est très bien placée dans un village exceptionnel.

Vraiment très bien équipée, très agréable à vivre, pleine de charme. Parfaite pour une grande famille.

Le seul point négatif (mineur pour nous): pas de possibilité de se garer au pied de la maison, et les déchargements de voiture doivent se faire assez rapidement pour ne pas boucher la rue trop longtemps (mais elle n'est pas très passante: nous n'avons pas eu de problème).

Bref: nous y retournerons avec plaisir !
Etienne P.


 Jill C. - Sep 2016

The house is old and full of character, but renovated to provide for 21st century living. We found it very clean and well equipped. The only thing we would have liked, but didn't have, was a toaster. The village is delightful and has several good restaurants all within a few hundred yards.

We were just a couple so only needed the largest of the bedrooms. The top floor bedroom is probably only suitable for teenagers, but they would no doubt love it's quirkiness.

For anyone interested in walking there are numerous lovely trails almost on your doorstep. We really enjoyed our stay.
Jill C.


 Andreas K. - Aug 2016

Wir haben uns in dem Haus wohlgefühlt, es ist absolut perfekt ausgestattet und absolut sauber. Die Beschreibung stimmt perfekt. Wir hatten noch nie eine so gut ausgestattete Küche in einem Ferienhaus.

Wirklich toll ist, dass man für den täglichen Einkauf kein Auto benötigt - alles ist innerhalb von 5min zu Fuß erreichbar. Ein sehr guter Bäcker, Metzger, ein kleiner Supermarkt, ein wohlsortiertes Weingeschäft, etc..

Direkt um die Ecke sind zwei gute Restaurants (Cafe des Artist & Enfants terrible). Sehr gutes Preis/Leistungsverhältnis - kein Vergleich zu den Restaurants an der Küste. Das Restaurant "Le Catalan" am Kirchplatz war OK, die Bedienung aber komplett überlastet. Wenn es voll ist dauert es ewig.

Zum Parkplatz sind es nur 5min - und es ist kein Problem das Auto zum Ein- und Ausladen kurz vor dem Haus stehen zu lassen.

Laroque ist ein schöner kleiner lebendiger Ort am Rand der Alberes - nur rund 20min bis zum Meer. Wir waren fast immer südlich von Banyuls im Meeresschutzgebiet schnorcheln. Unglaublich klares Wasser.

Fast genauso schnell ist man in den Pyrenäen, und in nur rund einer Stunde in Girona (tolle Altstadt) & Figueres (Dali Museum) in Spanien. Sehr toll ist es abends zur Burg zu gehen und den Blick zu genießen.

Wir hatten das Glück, dass an einem Freitagabend Nachtmarkt mit Musik war - hat uns sehr gut gefallen.

Die Abwicklung durch Penny war perfekt.

Eine Bemerkung für Menschen mit leichtem Schlaf - auf der kleinen Straße vor dem Haus ist zwar wenig Verkehr, aber durch die Häuser auf der anderen Seite hallt es etwas. Wir sind daher in den Gartenraum umgezogen, der sehr ruhig und in der Nacht angenehm kühl war.
Andreas K.


 christele c. - Jul 2016

Bonjour,

Nous avons passé un très agréable moment et de très agréables vacances sur Laroques des ALbert.

C'est un village calme mais avec des activités, des bars, un office de tourisme.

Nous étions avec 4 adolescentes, elles ont pu faire des ballades très sympathiques à partir de ce village.

Proche de la mer et de la montagne, nous avons pu organiser notre séjour et en profiter pleinement.

Le logement est très fonctionnel, très bien équipé et décoré avec gout.

Nous avons passé de très très bons moments en famille.

Nous reviendrons certainement dans cette location car la région est vaste et il y a encore beaucoup à découvrir

Christèle
christele c.


 Jul 2016

This is the second time we rented this house!

The house is well equipped with "all you need", it is clean and frech. The backyard is a good place for barbeque in the evenings.

It's only a short drive to various nice beaches, and it's a good spot for bicycling. The there are short distance to the bakery, butcher, restaurants and "all what you kneed".

We will recommend the appartment to others!
Jul 2016


 Jane G.Cambridge, UK - Aug 2015

Lovely house which was very well equipped and in a great location in heart of village close to all amenities.

Plenty to do - Ceret, Carancas Gorge, beaches, local hill walks into the Alberes, Figueres and Barcelona. Something for all the family!

We would definitely recommend this property.
Jane G.Cambridge, UK


 Anne C.Cork, Ireland. - Jul 2013

If you want to experience a little taste of life in a charming, friendly French Catalan village then look no further than this beautiful home in Laroque des Alberes. I'll get the practicalities out of the way first which should give you every confidence in renting this property.

The house is exactly as described, was spotlessly clean on arrival and very well equipped to cater for the needs of our party of 6. It is deceptively spacious with the garden/patio and additional roof terrace providing more than enough outdoor space. The house is tastefully and carefully decorated as a welcoming home rather than 'basic holiday let' which greatly adds to one's comfort and relaxation. The bedrooms (very comfy beds!) have shutters and floor fans with A/C in the top floor bedroom which helps keep them cool. I was slightly worried about having to park the car in the public carparks but I can assure you there's nothing to worry about. Parking is safe, secure and readily available. It's also no problem stopping briefly outside the house to load/unload - don't let the parking situation put you off!

The owner was a pleasure to deal with - communication was prompt, friendly and efficient. There are local English speaking representatives on hand in Laroque which is reassuring should you run into any difficulties.

The house is literally a 2 minute walk from anything you would need in the gorgeous Laroque des Alberes. The family-friendly Cafe des Artistes is just down the street, there's a choice of 2 pizzerias (I can recommend Aux Saveurs du Monde), a butchers, 2 bakers and a mini-market all within 100 yards. Other restaurants I can recommend are La Cueva (great tapas), Le Catalan on Place de la Republique (like something out of a film set with fab regional food) or Cote Saisons for something a bit special!

Local beaches we enjoyed were Le Racou and Les Pauliles. We took day-trips to Carcassonne, Cadaques (stunning little Spanish town) and Figueres (Salvador Dali Museum) which are well worth a visit. Lac Villeneuve de la Raho is a good place to spend the morning and then perhaps head to Perpignan for the afternoon.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this property and would happily return again.

Anne C.Cork, Ireland.

Follow Us

About Us

Rent-in-France.co.uk was launched in 2007 and is one of the best advertising sites for holiday rentals in France! Search our site for thousands of fantastic holiday homes throughout France.

Contact Us

Rent-in-France

Tel: +44 208 1443950

Copyright 2007-2019 © Rent-in-France.co.uk