Favourites

Beautiful Rural Holiday Cottage in the Heart of the Normandy Countryside Reviews

Return to Listing

Reviews

Note: Login to add comments and leave review helpfulness feedback.

Average Customer Review
5 of 5 from 31 reviews.

Add Review


 7th April to 14th April 2018

This is our fourth visit in four years! We love this place. Karen and Andy have had a vision of French life and encompassed it all with style and panache. A beautiful property over two floors that is a home from home. Very quiet location with only bird song and the countryside to listen to. The gite has everything you need for that relaxing break aided by the fact the hosts know the area so well and are on hand to assist with information you need to make your stay even better.
Always on hand but not intrusive, Karen and Andy are the most welcoming of hosts who leave you confident in the fact that nothing is too much bother and will assist in any queries you may have.

The location is remote and a car essential but it's is beautifully situated for some lovely towns Domfront (25 minutes drive) and villages and and hour and a halfs drive from the Normandy beaches, Caen, Bayeaux and the impressive Mont St Michel!

I would recommend this "Home from Home" to anyone and we have already booked again for next Easter.


 Peter & Debbie Wise, 28 Oct 2017

Now our third visit to Le Pressoir and what is left to say about this beautiful gite. It is always spotlessly clean and the linen and towels soft and fresh. The attention to detail which has gone into this property is a tribute to Karen and Andy's creativity and vision. It is always a pleasure to be able to return to this area which is only 1 1/2 from the ferry
port at Caen. Karen and Andy are the perfect Hosts, always on hand if needed but not intrusive. 'Thank you' once again
for the 'welcome pack', goodies and logs and your ever happy company. See you in April 2018. Peter & Debbie.


 Clive Williams , 05 Oct 2017

A beautiful home from home, lovely hosts, fantastic attention to detail, the surroundings are peaceful & relaxing, and a great location for exploring nearby towns & villages.
Looking forward very much to our return visit........


 Graham & Lizzie Messenger, 27 Sep 2017

This was our first experience of hiring a Gite in France and what a find!!
We cannot praise the quality and presentation of this accommodation highly enough.
It is 5* in every respect, you will not want for anything if you select this property.
Karen & Andy the delightful owners also provide you with a FOC welcome pack of essentials and there are no hidden extras cost wise, like paying for logs for the wood burner etc.
You will most certainly enjoy this wonderful experience............We will be returning next year


 Monika & Thomas & Lena from Germany, 11 Sep 2017

A wonderful house in the norman countryside and a very warm welcome of the owners Karen & Andy... we appreciated much the welcome tray with the eggs and norman cider... thanks a lot
The house is very cosy and well equipped with many amenities, we loved it to return in the evening :))
We stayed 18 wonderful nights in this outstanding gite, a great place to visit the sights of the Normandy... so we went to St. Michaels Mount, the Aquarium and Intra-Muros of St. Malo, Omaha Beach, the tapestry of Bajeux, we saw the big sailing ships in Le Havre and the impressive Bridge of the Normandy, the cheese dairies in Livarot and the we had a wonderful day on the Chanel Island Jersey... there are lots of things to do and to see... les velorails,
la Suisse normande, the waterfalls of Mortain... and the discovery of the
So we say thank you very much for great and recreative days in that wonderful rural retreat...


 Andy & Melanie, 22 Aug 2017

Amazing gite containing everything you would need for a fabulous holiday. Andy & Karen are the perfect hosts, will definitely return, five star rating


 Mercedese Large, 13 Aug 2017

I stayed here in late May. I was visiting my friends who live nearby. My friends know Karen and Andy well and knew this would be the perfect place for me. Every time I think about my stay, I just laugh. First of all, they restored the cottage with their own two hands! There are "before" pictures on display. They are masterful at their work. The cottage is cozy, spacious. While it is attached to their home, the arrangement affords guests adequate privacy. The sitting garden fulfills the fantasy of what one imagines in a bucolic Normand setting -- cows moo and chickens cluck, peace and quiet. A perfect place to have a morning cup of coffee or tea. That's easy to do because the kitchen is fully stocked with local deliciousness -- fresh eggs, bread, cheese, milk. butter, and more. If you want to know what else, you absolutely have to stay here. It's worth your while. This is the ideal home base for visiting the sites in the region. Thank you, Karen and Andy, I'll be back!


 Paul and Sue, 08 Aug 2017

This place just gets better and better, been here four times now and each time there are lots of little surprise's to make you stay even better. Relaxing and charming in a rural location yet close enough to everywhere should you wish to explore. Tastefully restored to a very high standard nothing has been left to chance you will be wowed from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. Karen and Andy are the perfect hosts, there if you need them and full of local knowledge. So if your after a charming, relaxing holiday then look no further.


 Jan & Kev McCormick, 28 Jul 2017

We had a very enjoyable week in Le Pressoir and hosts Karen and Andy were genuinely welcoming and very helpful throughout our stay. The gite was beautiful, and was prepared to an excellent standard. It has a fully equipped kitchen with everything we needed for our stay and is tastefully furnished throughout. The attention to detail is excellent and we could not have wished for anything more. Le Pressoir is ideal for touring the more southern parts of Normandy, as well the western coastline with its lovely beaches. Brittany is just short drive away and the D-Day beaches are all within easy reach. All in all a very enjoyable, relaxing stay helped by the perfect little base to return to after a day's touring.
Having travelled throughout France the last 15 years, we can honestly say this is one of the best gites we have experienced, and would have no hesitation in recommending Le Pressoir to anyone planning to come to this region. Karen and Andy are lovely hosts.


 Paulette, Jean Louis and Audrey, 22 Jul 2017

The house is quiet, very nice, very well equipped and well decorated, very good it feels !!
Karen and Andy owners are very charming.
We also liked the "welcome pack" (basic foodstuffs ...) which were welcome, and cleaning included.
We keep excellent memories of this stay and will not hesitate to recommend this cottage to our friends or to return.

Follow Us

About Us

Rent-in-France.co.uk was launched in 2007 and is one of the best advertising sites for holiday rentals in France! Search our site for thousands of fantastic holiday homes throughout France.

Contact Us

Rent-in-France

Tel: +44 208 1443950

Copyright 2007-2019 © Rent-in-France.co.uk