Favourites

13C Dordogne House with Private Pool, Fishing Nearby Reviews

Return to Listing

Reviews

Note: Login to add comments and leave review helpfulness feedback.

Average Customer Review
5 of 5 from 11 reviews.

Add Review


 Janet D. Cumbria on September 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Les Vachers. Alain and Sandra were perfect hosts, dealing promptly with any queries and providing lots of useful local information. The house has everything one could need and is well equipped for all ages. Visiting in late September, it took some courage to actually swim but the pool area is a great spot to read in the sunshine. The provision of two outside tables gives a welcome choice of eating in full sun or shade and is typical of the thoughtful provision for their guests' needs.

There are lots of interesting places to explore and flights to Bergerac make access easy. We would happily return and have already recommended Les Vachers to our extended family.


 Eoin B. on June 2016

We spent a week here in June, 2016. The owners (Alan and Sandra) live next door and were very helpful. Their information about local markets and facilities was excellent and they gave us advice on local walking routes as well. They even gave us free coal for the barbecue which was greatly appreciated. They also provide a written guide on the local area, with details of local restaurants, shops, markets and facilities. They are available without being in any way on top of you; really, they are perfect hosts. They even gave us a bottle of wine on the last night there.

In terms of the facilities, the photos don't quite do the place justice. The downstairs living area is large and comfortable, with UK tv provided (which was handy when we were there, as euro 2016 was on), the kitchen is very well equipped with everything you could need, the beds are comfortable and the outdoor facilities are fantastic. The pool is a really good size and depth. It can be a little chilly in the morning but as it is heated by the solar panels on the roof, it is definitely warmer in the evening and we used it six of the seven days we were there.

The location is a little rural but it is only about 15 minutes drive from Eymet, where there is a superb weekly market and about 15 minutes drive in the other direction from the Leclerc hypermarket in Sainte Foy La Grande which is huge and has just about everything you need. Just a word of warning though: on the main Bordeaux - Bergerac road there are loads of speed cameras, so if you are driving from Bordeaux, keep a close on eye on your speed.

All in all, an excellent place for a holiday and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.


 Adam T. on August 2015

Nine of us (seven adults, two children and a small baby), spent a fantastic week in this lovely property. Located in the in the heart of the French countryside, surrounded by vineyards and rolling fields, the setting could not have been any better. This, coupled with the fantastic weather that we enjoyed, made it the perfect place to escape from everyday life.

The house itself was full of character. A modernised French farmhouse, gave us all the space and comfort that we could have hoped for, complete with BBQ (which got a lot of use), out door patio and seating, and lovely swimming pool, it was hard for us to leave the property and explore the local area.

If that wasn't enough, opposite the house was the lake which you can fish in (the owner has all the kit you need to have a go), and a nine hole pitch and putt course with a variety of clubs to borrow, so even the children could try it out.

The owner (Alan and Sandra) live next door to the property and so were on hand to give us very welcome help and advice on all manner of things, and when we had a problem with one of the cars we brought from UK, they were incredibly supportive and helpful, letting us use their facilities to sort things out.

When we did manage to venture out, we found the local area to be beautiful. Particular highlights would be Eymet - particularly on market day, and Chateau Bridoire with all its out door games.

With all that, a week wasn't really long enough and so we definitely plan to visit again in the future!


 Ian P. on July 2014

The property is set in a lovely peaceful location, and was very easy to find. Our family group of nine was supposed to enjoy the pleasant and very charming farmhouse for the period of our stay but due to a medical problem, my son and daughter-in-law were advised to return home as early as possible, cutting short their holiday at Alan & Sandra's beautifully converted farmhouse. Such a shame as the rest of us had a wonderful time exploring the local area, the local mediaeval festivities at nearby Eymet and the wonderful old parts of Bergerac. The whole area is steeped in history and tradition and, even though we spent three weeks here, it was impossible to fit everything in.

The property was spacious, more than enough room for everybody, the grounds around the pool and house were safe even for our one year old granddaughter to roam around - she would certainly have loved the space around the golf course and lake even more had my son's family been able to stay.

Alan & Sandra were extremely helpful throughout our stay, offering advice on where to go for the all important first shop after our arrival and also, if there was ever a problem, it was quickly resolved.

Their photos of the property didn't really do it justice - just ask the female members of our party who adored the magnificent bathroom upstairs!!

Our family look forward to another visit at some time in the future - hopefully no medical issues to curtail this visit.


 Lorraine S. on August 2014

We were a large party of 9 people and the house is so spacious we never felt on top of each other.

The weather was brilliant so we spent a lot of time in the pool. We also enjoyed "Tiffin" (wine) at mid day along with a large spread of food ... French bread..cheese..parma ham ... melon etc outside on the superb large patio table.

Zeke who is 16 enjoyed catching loads of fish, you can see his photo on this site from when we were last at Les Vachers 2 years ago.

The lads Ray, Kyle, Connor and Zeke enjoyed the golf.

Thanks to Alan and Sandra for recommending Saint-Emilion catacombs and the English tour of the underground hermitage and monolithic church so called because it is carved out of one piece of stone in the hillside.

Thankyou for sorting out car hire for Kyle and thanks for organising two years ago a doctor for myself (Lorraine) when I was having a problem with my ears.

Enjoyed the market at Eymet on Thursday morning and the night market at Sigoulès on Friday night.

The locals are very friendly and were getting us all up to dance!

The food there was gorgeous you choose what you want to eat from the many stalls there . Then you take the food to your table with wine that you have brought with you and settle down and listen to the live entertainment.

A "must do" is to visit Oradour-sur-Glane a town that stands the same as it did on June 10th 1944 when the germans massacred the whole village.

The village has purposely been left untouched since the massacre, to serve both as a shrine to those who died and as a constant reminder of the unremitting evil of the Nazis.

Apparently the new villagers from the new village which stands alongside the 1944 village do not go near there at night for ghostly figures can be seen.

Oradour -sur-glane is about 2 hours away but we visited it on our way back home (we travelled by car).

Thanks again Alan and Sandra for your hospitality.

Didn't want to leave...but will definitely be back!

From Ray, Lorraine, Janet, Kyle, Connor, Fiona, Heather, Alysha and Zeke


 Gig C. on July 2013

Our group of 5 couples stayed at this charming French farm villa for 1 week in end July 2013. Not only did we love the farmhouse and all its surrounds of picturesque vineyards and sunflower fields, but found the local people to be extremely warm and welcoming. We met many locals through some other Aussies who have a house in Sigoules and who spend their Aussie winters in France conducting food & wine tours for Aussie tourists, so that gave us an inside advantage into the local sights, culture and the friendly people. Alan and Sandra were the perfect hosts, always on hand to offer advice regarding local sights, and we even shared a bottle or two of Alan’s favourite wine! One of our party needed some chiropractic care while there, and Sandra not only arranged the appointment in nearby Eymet, but provided the transport as well. This help was greatly appreciated and enabled that person to recover sufficiently to return home to Australia for further followup care. “Les Vachers” is/has great character, ample rooms and amenities, great swimming pools which were essential during our stay of 30-40 degree Celsius days, terrific outdoor entertaining area, ideal cooking facilities for large groups, golf course, fishing lake and is the gateway to many local tourist and cultural sites. Alan has probably hidden the French horn that we used on the final night to demonstrate our appreciation of traditional French music after spending a great evening at the Sigoules night markets indulging in fabulous French local foods and wines! We would definitely recommend “Les Vachers” to others visiting the area. Tony, Gig and group.


 Jeanette C. on June 2013

Fantastic property, very rustic but with every modern appliance. House was very clean, comfortable with loads of space for everyone. There were 10 of us staying including our 15 month old twin granddaughters, & there was loads of room both inside & out. Pool was great, very warm & a lovely small pool for the kids. Sandra & Alan were so helpful & such lovely people. Always on hand to help if needed & they gave great advice about places to visit. St. Emilion is stunning & the night market at Duras has a wonderful atmosphere, we went twice! Bergerac, Issigeac,Eymet & Monbazillac Chateau all only a few minutes drive & all really worth a visit. Such a beautiful area. Almost forgot the fishing! The boys (old & young) loved the lake & had quite a few bites. So peaceful too. Fantastic holiday, thank you, Jeanette, Ian & gang!


 Angelina on July 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 'Les Vachers'! The house is full of character, spacious, well equiped and a very comfortable 'home from home'. Alan, Sandra and JJ were excellent hosts who made us all feel very welcome. A lovely, peacefull, rural location which is within easy reach of local towns and supermarkets but you do need a car.

We all enjoyed playing golf and the fishing was great fun! Alex (11yrs)was particulary proud of the 10lb carp he caught. We didn't have brilliant weather, so we didn't use the pool as much as we'd have liked, but this didn't spoil our holiday as there is plenty to do and see in the area. We particularly enjoyed the walks in the area, which were all well signposted, and the markets at Eymet and Issigeac. We also enjoyed wine tasting at Monbazillac and shopping in Bergerac. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and family and would love to go back again ourselves.


 Jamie on July 2009

Had a fantastic holiday, the property is in a really nice rural location with easy access to local towns and other amenities. The outside space really makes this property, our two year old son loved spending time in the pool, fishing or on the grounds of the golf course. Alan and Sandra were brilliant, they have vast knowledge and provided everything we needed, they are genuinely nice people. The actual property was clean and had was really well equipped, it is full of character and charm, if I was being ultra critical I would say that the property could do with a bit of updating. However that had no bearing on our stay, the property comes highly recommended, we had a great family holiday, we hope to return soon.

Jamie & family.


 Tracy & Nick on July 2009

The photos do not really do Les Vachers justice, the stone house is lovely, full of charm, rooms were spacious, well equiped and everything was lovely and clean.

The private golf was great and we all had a go. Fishing became easier once Alan gave us a few tips and everyone caught a fish.

Alan is a fantastic host, he knows the area inside out, recommended some lovely places to visit and places to eat. He also was spot on with the weather forecast every day!

I would definately recommend this property and the kids (three teenagers) all thought it was great and want to go back next year.

Follow Us

About Us

Rent-in-France.co.uk was launched in 2007 and is one of the best advertising sites for holiday rentals in France! Search our site for thousands of fantastic holiday homes throughout France.

Contact Us

Rent-in-France

Tel: +44 208 1443950

Copyright 2007-2019 © Rent-in-France.co.uk